top of page

3 month anniversary and freedom!

My second year of uni is over and done with (well, that's hoping I passed everything)!

All assignments have been handed in, and I only have one more class on Friday where I don't really have to do anything other than listen to some people debating..

These past few weeks have been busy churning out the assignments, and come yesterday, submitting them, so only little things have happened in between... Oh and also the weather has been SHOCKING here. I'm talking constant, heavy rain, flooding and king tides - seriously, Google it, it was crazy.

 

There's a light festival currently happening in Sydney called Vivid. It's a 3 week thing where they put on light shows around or on the main attractions, but we haven't been able to see much of it yet. Saturday 28th our accommodation hosted an event in Taronga Zoo, so after getting a slightly cringey 'party bus' there, we basically spent all evening walking around the zoo looking at cool, lit-up sculptures. We had 3 hours to spend there, and after 45 minutes we were done, we walked around again but it was soo cold and windy so we decided to wait in the cafe, and then the 'party bus' arrived 2 hours late so we were stood in the freezing cold for 2 hours :( suffice to say that nobody felt like partying on the way back - but other than that, it was pretty good.

 

Sunday 29th was a pretty weird experience for me. I had seen on Facebook that a singer I follow on Youtube was performing 3 free gigs around Sydney. After trying on Friday night to see him, but getting turned away because the pub was at full capacity, I kind of gave up on the idea that I'd get to see him live. But, it happened!!

It was so weird - imagine randomly finding this guy on Youtube, loving his stuff, knowing you will probably never see him gig because he lives half way across the world, and then suddenly being in this tiny pub, watching him 2 people away from me... and I got a photo of course :D

 

Wednesday 1st June was a special day for a few reasons. The first being it was the birthdays of my lovely mother and Elouise (v v close family friend). So, after being very organised and sending birthday cards out far in advance, I ordered flowers for my mum and got to speak to them both :) They were having a girlie day, going out shopping along with Hilary, so I phoned them and sung very loudly to both of them. It was so nice to talk to them, but it made me realise how much I miss my Faversham family :(

The second reason this was a special day was because it marked our 3 month anniversary dinner! We celebrated by drinking cocktails and eating dinner at the Bondi Icebergs. We wanted to watch the sun set there, but the bus took so long so we missed it. It was still nice to sit, relax and talk absolute crap (we were talking about how we think the world is going to end, how crap the education system can be etc).

 

The Thursday just gone was spent playing Laser Tag in our uni bar with some of the InTents crew. The bar was fitted out with some blow-up army props and around 6 teams of 9-11 people had signed up with prizes for the winners, runners up etc. I'd never played before, but it was so much fun :D Our team were dead serious, talking tactics and strategies before each 15 minute game.

And of course, we won. I mean, the prize was a $200 bar tab - we were taking this seriously.

 

Finally, yesterday after class and submitting all my assignments, we met with more of the InTents crew to celebrate end of term, and spend our hard-earned bar tab. Once the tab ran dry, we ended up all going to Sidebar and dancing and singing pretty much all night. Most of us were pretty knackered by the time it hit 1 since we had started drinking at 6, and some even at 3pm :O

 

Now, we have ultimate freedom. The rain has stopped, we have no uni or work commitments, just 2 months left to start ticking off some things on our Sydney bucket list!

It's kind of scary how quick time is going - 2 months left here will fly by, and then only 1 more year of uni until I graduate?!!

We have a few possible things lined up already, hopefully a trip to Bali, a birthday present from my dad for both me and Greta (she knows what it is, says it's amazing but I don't know yet), and a possible roadtrip or two.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page