top of page

19 Things I've learnt - our halfway point!

Today, Thursday 19th marks exactly our halfway point! We have exactly the same amount of time to come as we've already spent here, so I thought I'd share some things I've learnt... (also odd numbers make me uncomfortable but oh well)

1. Swim in the flags unless you want a wild time.

2. Sometimes fins in the water can be dolphins.

3. The clear jellyfish are harmless (doesn't stop me and Greta running out the water).

4. Look up for spiders - they cast webs across paths :s

5. They pack your groceries for you in some supermarkets here!!!

6. Goon is basically cheap, boxed wine.

7. The sunsets can get crazyyy here.

8. It is perfectly normal to come back drenched from a night out because you've been swimming.

9. Aussies eat burgers with pineapple and beetroot in?!

10. Aussies like to put coconut on everything :(

11. They have these awesome, futuristic seats on the trains that London needs to get asap.

12. Wifi/internet is shocking and expensive.

13. Although Bondi might be the most famous beach, it isn't the nicest.

14. The sun sets at like 5pm - obviously because it's winter but for some reason this didn't occur to me before I came, I thought it would be light until 10pm lol.

15. There's drive-through pie shops.

16. Sometimes 25 degrees can be cold (even if this is a good summers day in the UK).

17. The buses don't say what the next stop is - what a way to confuse tourists or newbies.

18. Animals, and especially birds make funny noises over here.

19. People don't say 'G'day' or 'mate' nearly as much as I thought they would.

The difference between Greta and I ;)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page