top of page

Trecks, sunsets and rooftops

I'm aware it's been a while since the last blog post, but nothing majorly eventful happened two weeks ago because we were at uni, faced with bad weather etc.. But, time for a slight update...

 

Wednesday 6th (two weeks ago), we revisited our favourite beach - Palm Beach. Although it's the furthest of all the ones we've been to, it's so beautiful we can't help but keep going back there! This time we made sure we left enough time to climb the lighthouse.

That was a wholeeee other trek in itself. We started to climb up just before the sunset, and chose to climb the stair route - what a mistake. The stairs were barely there, sometimes it was just a rock balancing on the ground or a tree trunk. My legs were already aching from a workout the day before, so lugging myself up here - in the heat - was a challenge.

But it was so worth it. All the way up, I kept looking back around because the view was amazing. And once we reached the top the sun was just setting, which made it even more beautiful. Apologies in advance to my friends who I spammed with loads of pictures and videos - I couldn't help it :D

The lighthouse at the top was shut, but on one side of the path is the whale watching spot. It's just vast ocean where whales migrate through in the right season (which starts next month), so I'll definitely be going back there! On the other side, you can see Palm Beach, a strip of island, and a bay on the other side. We sat for a while, watching the sunset and taking pictures (ofc).

As nice as it was, we decided to leave before it got too dark - and good thing too! We took the ramp down instead of the stairs, but bats were flying around and it was pitch black by the time we got to the bottom.

 

Saturday 9th we decided to go the 'Wet n Wild' waterpark because it's shutting at the end of this month for winter (whaatt??).

It was the perfect time to go because it wasn't that busy, and the weather was still warm enough to enjoy the day. It was a bit of a trek getting out there - an hour train ride and then a 10 minute uber, but it was worth it!

No pictures from that day because my phone decided to stop recognising my camera - and my GoPro clip broke so it isn't fully waterproof, but it was a veryyy fun day :)

 

People keep telling me that the weather is going to get worse, or this is the 'last nice weekend', so on Sunday we decided to make the most of the sunny, 27 degrees and went to Bondi.

Towards the afternoon, Greta was complaining that she was cold (we climatized way too quickly), and soon after it didn't feel warm enough to be lying on the beach in a bikini - it was probably still 23/24 degrees, but felt chilly!

 

I've briefly mentioned a society called 'InTents', well their welcome drinks were on Monday 11th. We went along to that in the evening, chatted to a few people, and got information about the upcoming trip.

After setting alarms, panicking and rushing to sign-up for the trip (apparently it sells out instantly), we actually just got confirmation that we've been accepted which means myself and Greta will be spending 3 days with the group, camping in the wilderness (Greta hates wildlife), spending days on the beach and nights by a campfire drinking - apparently :)

So that should be good fun and I should have loads to write about for that, but I'm not going to take my camera, my phone camera has died so I'll just be relying on Greta's phone :D

 

Friday 15th (just gone), we, erm... skipped our lecture (sorry mum and dad), and instead went to Darling Harbour to explore and have lunch.

I said I wasn't sure of how Friday's lecture was going to go, and that Friday I really wasn't feeling it.. But I had a really gooodd chicken caesar salad which was enjoyed way more than the lecture would have been. It's all about making memories and making the most isn't it?

I did go to my tutorial though that afternoon, which is more important ;)

The evening was spent on a rooftop, watching the city and drinking cider (for the second time). The way of life is completely different over here, and I'm sloowllyy falling in love with it, which is v dangerous.

 

Yesterday we went to the Botanic Gardens which are huggeeee. I'm not sure if we saw everything, but what we did see was beautiful. There's nice views looking out onto Harbour Bridge and the Opera House and it was a day well spent.

We also saw loads of spiders around which was a bit nerve-wracking, but we survived!!

 

Today was spent in the library, working - shock! I have an assignment due in Tuesday which I needed to wrap my head around, so I got cracking on that.

I submitted my first assignment on the Friday just gone, so uni work is getting real now!

Not quite sure how often I'm going to post, I guess it all depends on how exciting my week are, but that's it for now :)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page