top of page

Alarms, fire engines, the police and beeping in general...

First things first, due to the events that took place in Belgium, I delayed this blog post because it just didn't seem appropriate at the time. But I'm publishing it now because it was an eventful, fun week - so, as a heads up, I'm talking about two weeks ago (from the 14th onwards)

 

Something I was unaware of was that there was actually 2 weeks of 'freshers' and the second week consisted of social events... So my week just gone consisted of, on the most part, drinking hahaha :S

I'm not going to do my 'go-to' format of going through every single day because to be honest looking back at my week, I spent most of the days in bed, or in my room in my PJs watching TV. The weather is partly to blame because it was raining pretty much all week, butttt the hangover/tiredness was also a small factor ;) At the beginning of the week we did try to get ourselves out by going to the pool (this trip was shortened by a massive thunder cloud rolling in) going to the cinema (we watched How To Be Single which is hilarious), and the gym a few times... but other than that, that's the most productive I got during the day.

 

​​

Wednesday was O-Day which is the equivalent to the Freshers Fair - anyone reading this who isn't down with the uni lingo, it's basically a day of walking around, signing up to a bunch of uni societies you'll probably never actually go to, and trying to get as many freebies as you possibly can. I signed up for an exchange student club, netball (haven't played in years so this might be quite ambitious), a photography club, a surf club and 'InTents' which is basically organised camping out on beaches etc. The last few ones I'm probably more inclined and drawn to, but whether I actually pay the membership and go, well, only time will tell! hahaha

After the fair was 'Welcome Cocktails for International and Exchange Students'. It was on the rooftop of one of the UTS buildings where we could see the city buildings, our accommodation and a bridge!!! Someone asked me what the bridge was, I have no idea why they asked me but all I could tell them was that it definitely wasn't harbour bridge - as you can tell, I'm still new to my surroundings :D

We got given 3 free drinks and could choose from champagne, wine or beer. Exccusseeee meee, why call it a cocktail party if we can't get any cocktails?!!? How outrageous. Still I didn't let my free drinks go to waste, just dealt with drinking wine instead. We got chatting to a few people and when the party ended decided to carry on at the uni bar, then someone suggested going out for the night, but at this time it was only about 9pm.. So, next thing we know, we're sat in a restaurant on our best behaviour (I get tipsy here very easily - think it must be something to do with the temperature or the gravity or something), and then found ourselves in Sidebar, which I think we'll be visiting often. We spent all night dancing and singing along (I had no voice the next day), and then we got chatting to some people outside who were from our accommodation. We walked home with them, and were all in good spirits.

Skipping a few details because I don't want to get anyone in trouble, we got out the lift to the sound of an alarm going. One of the guys who lived on our floor and who was with us sheepishly admitted that he had accidentally pressed the alarm. Next thing, everyone's coming out their rooms and down the fire exit. Well, apparently... I had to go to the toilet (knowing it wasn't an emergency) so Greta watched everyone going past and then we joined in. Once we got outside the fire engine had showed up, police cars were showing up, and all the while me and Greta were stunned, not knowing what to do or say, or even believe it was really happening, plus, I'd never seen so many people at our accommodation! Anyway, a few minutes and a chat with the culprit later, we found ourselves in our rooms ready for bed. What a crazy first night out!!

 

Friday, surprise surprise it was raining. We had tickets for Summerfest which was basically a festival at our uni. There were two stages with DJs throughout the day, and a silent disco. We arrived at 6ish, got drinks, met up with some people from the night before and danced through the sunset until about 10. We spent a majority of our time in the silent disco section which was so entertaining. I’d never been to one before, but knew there were 3 channels of different music you could switch between. I can’t explain the hilarity of seeing a group of people all dancing different tempos and styles, and all singing along (loudly) to different songs. After the Summerfest was a UV party which we hadn’t managed to get tickets for, so we ended up coming back and going to bed - we were shattered and knew we had another night out yet to come.

Found myself a balanced diet ;)

 

Saturday night we had booked ourselves in for a party bus that apparently was a ‘must-do’ event. Let’s just say that it wasn’t all that great. We ended up bonding with a group of American girls over the fact that it was crap, ended up leaving with them and they took us to a rooftop place. It’s a part of UTS accommodation, but we went up and there were loads of people, with their own alcohol, their own music and the views were amazing. It’s annoying because me and Greta actually looked at that accommodation, but I think because of the more expensive price didn’t go with it. I did manage to make a deal with someone that they’d let us in whenever we wanted to come up and party, so it’s all good :) After that, me and Greta decided to go back to Sidebar and partied, danced and sung until 3 am.

 

By this point in the week we truly were shattered, so I slept like a baby basically up until now. Sunday I made Greta watch the GP (obviously), skyped the fam.

Other than that, I’ve been doing some reading to prepare for uni tomorrow and a lot of lounging in preparation too! But, I’m only in Tuesday of this week because of Good Friday - so this week shouldn’t be too hard for me ;)

p.s the fridge has started beeping at me because i've been keeping it open and looking at the contents for too long - it was one of those weeks :S


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page