top of page

#jesuisbruxelles

As most of you probably know, on Tuesday morning Brussels was attacked in multiple locations.

As most of you also probably know, I have lived in Belgium for the past 12 or so years (I've lost count).

Sitting waiting to go to the gym I saw on the news that a bomb had gone off in the airport, by the time I had gotten up to my room, 2 more had gone off in metro stations well known to me, and well-used by my friends and family.

I immediately messaged my dad to make sure everybody was safe, messaged my brothers and friends. The worst thing is this isn't the first time something like this has happened - a few months ago I was messaging my family during the Brussels Lockdown.

My mind was racing knowing that I have people from my school using the metro everyday to get to school and the fact that my brother passes through the centre of Brussels everyday to get to work... Thankfully, all my family and friends are safe, but that's not to say that it wasn't a close call, unfortunately I opened my Facebook today to see someone from my school has been hospitalised.

My brother was on his way to work, just 5 minutes away from the airport around 30 minutes after the attacks. After not being able to get on his second bus and receiving a text from Ben about what had happened, he turned around and went home. Ben and Orla's school was put into lockdown. One of his friend's mum landed at the airport at around 8. My friend's mum was on her way to the airport. A friend's dad was 15 minutes late for work which ended up saving his life.

Seeing and hearing all these horror stories whilst I'm all the way over here is absolutely horrible.

I was exhausted, overwhelmed and a bit emotional as I was going to bed, but Facebook set me off - in a good way. Normally just before I go to sleep I check my Facebook, end up scrolling through not really caring. But last night my Facebook was different. It was full of posts dedicated to the attacks, and I read pretty much all of them.

The act of kindness from the person offering their home for anyone stranded, all my friend's heartfelt posts about how Belgium was and always be a home to them, whether they stayed for 2 years or 12 years. And the fact that random people I've never met were sending me their wishes, and were happy that my family were safe. Why does it take an event or disaster like this to happen for humanity come together?

What annoys me most is that the image of Brussels and Belgium is going to be tainted and deemed as unsafe.

Belgium is a place I'm so proud to call my home, my childhood was spent playing in the streets and out in the garden there, my teenage years were spent there, my best friends were made there, my successes and triumphs were made there, and a majority of my life has been spent there - to the point where I can't answer the simple question of 'where are you from?' because Belgium has played such a massive part in my life. None of what has happened lately has affected my views on Belgium whatsoever. I still consider Belgium my safe place, my happy place and my home. That will never change.

So yeah, we're gonna piss on your parade. (rant over)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page